How do I connect a sensor to the board after snapping it off

Cables, Electrodes, Plugs, etc.
Phil
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:17 am

How do I connect a sensor to the board after snapping it off

Postby Phil » Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:38 am

Hello everyone,

First: I'm new to bitalino and hardware tinkering in general, so please tell me if I'm missing something obvious or making wrong assumptions :)

I bought the standard bitalino board and want to use it to measure skin conductance and muscle activity. Now, since I want to measure the corrugator muscle above the eyebrow, I'm having a small length problem. With the standard cables and connected board there is no way to connect the sensors to the brow (emg) and fingers (eda).
If I understand correctly it is possible to snap the EDA sensor off and connect it with a longer cable. My problem now is how to do that properly. Seeing the plugged bitalino version and the cables/plugs offered in the store my idea is to use a Molex Sherlock plug on the sensor and a RJ22 plug on the board and connect it with the correct cable.
But since the RJ22 is not offered in the store and the bitalino is also sold in the freestyle version without any plugs and cables I'm wondering what other options I have.

So the question is: How can I connect a disconnected sensor with the board? What options are there and what are the pros/cons?

Thank you very much for your help :)
Phil

BITalino
Site Admin
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: How do I connect a sensor to the board after snapping it

Postby BITalino » Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:09 pm

Hi Phil,

First of all we'd like to thank you for your preference. The best option is indeed the one you thought, of connect the sensor by cable.

For that you need to add an RJ22 socket to the board, a 4-pin MOLEX Sherlock male plug to the sensor, and use an RJ22 to Molex Sherlock sensor cable:
http://store.bitalino.com/index.php/standard-account-store#!/~/product/category=8623005&id=34923006
http://store.bitalino.com/index.php/standard-account-store#!/~/product/category=9071127&id=28148028

We'll be adding the RJ22 socket to the store soon. Make sure you add it to A1, A2, A3, or A4 to get the maximum resolution of the data you'll be sampling.

Best regards,
The BITalino Team

BITalino
Site Admin
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: How do I connect a sensor to the board after snapping it

Postby BITalino » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:19 am

FYI... the RJ22 socket is now available from our store as well:
http://store.bitalino.com/index.php/standard-account-store#!/~/product/category=8623005&id=38005125

Best regards,
The BITalino Team


Return to “Accessories”




cron