Simulation mode

For problems with the BITalino hardware
uha666
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 4:51 pm

Simulation mode

Postby uha666 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:42 pm

Hi,

In the manual there is reference to a Simulation mode that would allow to simulate ECG and diferent waves. However each time i activate this mode the only output i get is a fixed value from each of the channels.

Is there something else i need to get the mode working correctly?

Regards

BITalino
Site Admin
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: Simulation mode

Postby BITalino » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:21 pm

Hi there,

If you have the chance I'd suggest you update the firmware on your BITalino by following the steps described in:
https://github.com/BITalinoWorld/firmware-bitalino

The simulation mode should indeed provide sine, saw tooth, and square waves, together with a pre-recorded ECG time series

Your firmware may still be a legacy version, in which the simulated mode might not yet be fully implemented.

Best regards,
The BITalino Team

uha666
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: Simulation mode

Postby uha666 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:30 pm

My version is BITalino_v3.3a_18032014 is that out of date?

Cumprimentos,

BITalino
Site Admin
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: Simulation mode

Postby BITalino » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:35 pm

The latest is BITalino_v4.0

Best regards,
The BITalino Team

uha666
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: Simulation mode

Postby uha666 » Wed Aug 26, 2015 9:48 pm

Hi,

I just updated the board using USBasp and avrdude. It's now on version 4.0 and the simulation mode works.

However the only way i can see the complete wave (of for example the ecg) is if i get 1 frame from the device and read it in every loop instead of getting 100 and read the first one.

Is this normal? Cause this makes the ecg real slow to loop.

Regards.

BITalino
Site Admin
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:47 pm

Re: Simulation mode

Postby BITalino » Wed Aug 26, 2015 10:13 pm

Hi there,

That's actually the expected behaviour for your current setup. When you only use the first sample in every 100 you read, this corresponds to a subsampling of the data. In the case of EMG data that works well due to the characteristics of the data.

However in the ECG one is expecting for example to see a sharp peak appearing periodically, which will likely be shaved off when the 99 remaining frames are discarded.

This explains why a loop acquiring 1 frame at the time from the device provides much better results than retrieving a single frame in each batch of 100.

As you have highlights, acquiring a single frame at a time leads to performance issues in live mode. To overcome this issue in the visualisation, you'll really need to plot more than 1/100 samples.

You can try to acquire 10 frames at a time and plot the first, acquire the 100 frames and plot 1 every 10 frames (e.g. 1, 10, 20, ...); the best is really to try out a few variants.

Best regards,
The BITalino Team


Return to “Troubleshooting”




cron